Ugh, People

I’ve never really understood people. I mean, who does. Sometimes people are downright silly with relationships and interactions. The way that we as a human race deal with things is beyond understanding.

For starters, we have this internal fear of being too judgmental. Whether that stems from wanting to be liked or fear of hurting others, we don’t want to seem like total assholes. This is easy enough to understand, but then there’s this inner self that EVERYONE secretly has. The thoughts that cross your mind but you don’t say aloud. When there is something you’re thinking but you know it wouldn’t be right to say. Take me for example. I was on an app and an ad for a “hot or not” website came up. Although I feel that these websites are harmful and disgusting at their core, I still made the judgement inside my head. I made an internal choice that I wanted to keep a secret. I had this initial thought of disgust but I still fed in to the aspect of culture that dictates a need to judge others.

We as humans also have a fear of being selfish. When asked what we want, the answer most often is the one that benefits those around us,  not just ourselves. This ends up affecting romantic relationships. We want to be selfless but sometimes feel resentful if the other person is getting more than we are. Now, I’m not justifying selfishness but sometimes we need to be. We need to learn to want for ourselves and not those we love the most.

There’s a need to help others. This need is one that benefits everyone but there’s a difference between helping people for the sake of helping people and doing it to suit our own needs. Sometimes we help friends out and keep that information stored and remember it. This way when we need something we can say “Oh remember last month when I helped you move…” and we constantly hold these so-called debts over the other person’s head. Thinking that we are somehow above them or better than them. This way we can control the other person and how they feel about us. We can control how nice or mean they are to us based on something we should have done out of pure love and friendship.

Well, there’s a lot to think about as far as the human race goes. Obviously I can’t tackle all of it in a blog post, and obviously I am also guilty of all these things. If you have any other qualities to add, I would love to hear them! Leave a comment or something. 🙂

Leave a comment